Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein

Publisher: Olivia Wildenstein
Release Date: March 29, 2017
Pages: 390
Genre: Young Adult, New Adult, Supernatural
[Goodreads]

Let me start by saying thank you to Olivia Wildenstein and Netgalley for giving me a copy of this book for review. *My opinions are my own and I totally respect that others might think differently.

I had just finished rewatching the Buffy episode “Pangs” when I came across Rose Petal Graves on Netgalley. If you’ve never watched Buffy before, leave this blog right now. Just kidding!! “Pangs” is the 8th episode of season 4.

Long story short:

It’s Buffy’s first Thanksgiving away from home and she’s feeling blue about it. She decides to throw a feast for her friends at Gile’s house.

mushy peas

Xander, currently a construction worker, is about to excavate a location on UC Sunnydale (Buffy’s college) ground when he falls into a ditch. The ditch ends up being a room in the lost Sunnydale missionary. Decades ago there was an earthquake that people thought destroyed the missionary when in reality it was actually buried.

Xander, always the unlucky one, awakens the spirit of an angry native american who in turn curses him with various diseases like smallpox and syphilis.

you look like death

In typical Buffy nature what follows afterwards is a lot of humor a battle and in this case, a nice sit down Thanksgiving dinner.

a bear you made it

undo it

i didnt mean to

 

 

 

 

My Review banner 2

Let me preface by saying that Rose Petal Graves was not my cup of tea. I was mislead by the description, I despised the main character Catori and I was overwhelmed by all the characters and side plots.

Rose Petal Graves had immediately piqued my because the description reminded me of one of my favorite Buffy episodes. Come to find out though, it wasn’t anything like “Pangs” which kinda bummed me out. Also, Rose Petal Graves was quoted as being perfect for fans of Court of Thorns and Roses (A new favorite series of mine) and Pocahontas. This description is super misleading. Yes there’s faes and there’s Native Americans in Rose Petal Graves, but that doesn’t mean it’s a book that appeals to fans of both.

I found Catori our MC super annoying and unlikable. She’s heading home in the beginning of the book to attend her mother’s funeral. Early on she meets this super delicious medical examiner who she immediately falls for. Another guy comes along who she barely knows and is clearly not a good choice and she’s finding herself falling for him too. I loath triangles and this triangle was worse than most because she barely knows the guys and they’re both sort of sketchy jerks.

I don’t really know what else to say about this book. The whole Native American/Fae storyline held so much promise but it just wasn’t developed enough. The characters were either totally unlikable or totally irrelevant.

My Review banner 2

1 Stake because I was able to finish this book regardless of the fact that I didn’t like it. That’s a huge feat for me because usually I don’t make it to the end if a book gets only 1 stake.

 

1 Comment

  1. I am really bummed you didn’t like this one! I was really hoping for a rave review. What do you think could have made it more interesting? We’ll have to compare thoughts once I’ve read it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image