books i dnf2

{Bookish Thoughts} When do you decide to DNF a book?

I really hate DNF-ing books, especially books that everybody else seems to love. I try really hard to give a book at least 100 pages before I decide to give up but sometimes I just can’t.

For instance, I recently posted a mini review for Hexed, a book that I DNF’d after 1 chapter. It’s crazy right, deciding to stop reading a book that has barely begun?! But Hexed just made me so livid! You can read why here.

There was another book that I had to DNF a few years ago because it was riddled with grammar and punctuation errors. It was a Netgalley book that clearly hadn’t been edited. Obviously most ARCS have an error here and there because they aren’t the final copies, but this book in particular was just horrendous. It seemed like a rough draft that hadn’t been touched and I refuse to read and review any unedited books like this. I’m a reviewer and not an editor.

Do you hate to DNF books? Do you especially hate to DNF when it’s an ARC you requested?

City of B

Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein

Let me start by saying thank you to Olivia Wildenstein and Netgalley for giving me a copy of this book for review. *My opinions are my own and I totally respect that others might think differently.

I had just finished re-watching the Buffy episode “Pangs” when I came across Rose Petal Graves on Netgalley. If you’ve never watched Buffy before, leave this blog right now. Just kidding!! “Pangs” is the 8th episode of season 4.

Long story short:

It’s Buffy’s first Thanksgiving away from home and she’s feeling blue about it. She decides to throw a feast for her friends at Gile’s house.

Xander, currently a construction worker, is about to excavate a location on UC Sunnydale (Buffy’s college) ground when he falls into a ditch. The ditch ends up being a room in the lost Sunnydale missionary. Decades ago there was an earthquake that people thought destroyed the missionary when in reality it was actually buried.

Xander, always the unlucky one, awakens the spirit of an angry native american who in turn curses him with various diseases like smallpox and syphilis.

In typical Buffy nature what follows afterwards is a lot of humor a battle and in this case, a nice sit down Thanksgiving dinner

Let me preface by saying that Rose Petal Graves was not my cup of tea. I was mislead by the description, I despised the main character Catori and I was overwhelmed by all the characters and side plots.

Rose Petal Graves had immediately piqued my because the description reminded me of one of my favorite Buffy episodes. Come to find out though, it wasn’t anything like “Pangs” which kinda bummed me out. Also, Rose Petal Graves was quoted as being perfect for fans of Court of Thorns and Roses (A new favorite series of mine) and Pocahontas. This description is super misleading. Yes there’s faes and there’s Native Americans in Rose Petal Graves, but that doesn’t mean it’s a book that appeals to fans of both.

I found Catori our MC super annoying and unlikable. She’s heading home in the beginning of the book to attend her mother’s funeral. Early on she meets this super delicious medical examiner who she immediately falls for. Another guy comes along who she barely knows and is clearly not a good choice and she’s finding herself falling for him too. I loath triangles and this triangle was worse than most because she barely knows the guys and they’re both sort of sketchy jerks.

I don’t really know what else to say about this book. The whole Native American/Fae story-line held so much promise but it just wasn’t developed enough. The characters were either totally unlikable or totally irrelevant 1 star because I was able to finish this book regardless of the fact that I didn’t like it. That’s a huge feat for me because usually I don’t make it to the end if a book gets only 1 star.

City of B

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. MaasEmpire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5) by Sarah J. Maas
Published by Bloomsbury Children's Books on September 6th 2016
Pages: 693
Goodreads

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius as war looms on the horizon. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don't.

With her heart sworn to the warrior-prince by her side, and her fealty pledged to the people she is determined to save, Aelin will delve into the depths of her power to protect those she loves. But as monsters emerge from the horrors of the past, and dark forces become poised to claim her world, the only chance for salvation will lie in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

In this breathtaking fifth installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, Aelin will have to choose what—and who—to sacrifice if she's to keep the world of Erilea from breaking apart.

Wow. Seriously though… wow!!! If Empire of Storms is but a taste of the end, I don’t know if I’ll make it through book 6. I barely made it through book 5.

There’s so much emotion running through me right now, especially for Aelin. Pride for what she sacrificed in Empire of Storms and sorrow for what she has already and surely will lose in the final book.

Aelin now knows who she is and what her ancestors expect of her. I seriously hate her ancestors at the moment. Aelin’s life has never been hers, neither has the other characters in this series actually – Elide, Rowan, Dorian, Manon as well as others. Their lives are all falling into predetermined places.

This “review” is more like a handful of sentences with my thoughts about Empire of Storms. I really don’t want to get too into this book because there’s so much to dissect. I also don’t want to share major spoilers.

Did you read this latest installment in the Throne of Glass series? What did you think? Are you as devastated as me? Are you super impressed (like me) at what Lysandra in her many forms accomplished in this book?

Lysandra as well as Elide are two of my current favs right now. This book had so many badass females.

5 stars! Duh.

City of B

The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight #1) by Melissa Gray

The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight #1) by Melissa GrayThe Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight, #1) by Melissa Grey
Published by Delacorte Press on April 28th 2015
Pages: 357
Goodreads
four-stars

Magic lives in our darkest corners.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants…and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

I quickly and easily became invested in The Girl at Midnight. From the moment I met our MC Echo I knew I was going to like her. Echo is sassy and smart. She’s gotten a raw deal in life but still perseveres. Even though Echo often jumps headfirst into bad situations, she always seems to make it through. She’s clever and observant which makes her a very accomplished thief. She steals everything from books to trinkets to magical objects.

Echo’s early childhood is a mystery to us. She was living on her own in a public library when she met Ala, an Avicen. Avicens are a race of human/bird supernatural creatures. The only thing we know about Echo’s parents is that they weren’t “very nice”. Echo is found by Ala in the beginning of The Girl at Midnight. After a few pages of introduction the story shoots 10 years into the future.

10 years later: Echo is a teenager who has an Avicen best friend named Ivy and a newly acquired Avicen boyfriend, Rowan. Besides Ivy, Rowan, Ala, and a couple other Avicens, Echo is rejected by the Avicens. Being the only full human in the nest, Echo has felt out of place among the Avicens. It also doesn’t help that the majority of Avicens gossip, look down at her, and all but say she doesn’t belong.

The Girl at Midnight really gets juicy when Echo finds a hidden message in a music box she stole for Ala. The message contains a riddle that has to do with the legendary Firebird, a creature who is said to wield such immense power, that it could end the war between the Avicen and the Drakharin. The Drakharin is another race of supernatural creatures in this book. Unlike the Avicen, the Drakharin are human/dragon. Echo, by Ala’s request, undertakes the journey to find the Firebird.

I appreciated Echo’s humor throughout The Girl at Midnight. Even in dark moments, like sitting in a Drakharin dungeon, Echo kept her sarcasm.

I didn’t give this book 5 stars because even though it was great, it wasn’t spectacular. There wasn’t really a cliffhanger at the end of The Girl at Midnight, but I liked the ending well enough to want to read the next book.

four-stars
books i dnf2

Books I DNF & Why ft. The Graces & Hexed

The Graces

This book was agonizing to read and I didn’t even finish it.

I’ve never disliked a MC like I did River. She was incredibly annoying. She’s completely obsessed with the graces. Not the graces themselves, but the idea of magic and power that the graces are rumored to possess. River plans all her words and actions carefully. She snoops around and looks for any grace she can find. River never tells the truth to anyone.

River has no identity of her own. To River everything is graces, graces, graces. She wants to “catch” a grace. She doesn’t care for the graces she just wants to use their “powers” for her own agenda. They aren’t people to her; they’re tools.

So yeah. River – BLEH.

Also the pace of this book was soooo slow and the story didn’t get good until halfway through the book. Unfortunately by that time I was so miserable that I didn’t bother trying to stick it out. I returned the library’s copy and never looked back.

 

Hexed

I tossed this book a side early on because of the confusing, off-balanced and unrealistic portrayal of characters in this book. The part that really put me over the edge was a line that Indigo the MC says. She’s describing the captain of the cheer leading squad as being bitchy and sleazy, always trying to hook up with Indigo’s boyfriend, yet, and here’s the kicker, this chick is Indigo’s “best friend”. WHAT THE FRACK? This chick is a horrible person and yet Indigo makes excuses for her, saying she’s been off lately/not herself. Even Indigo’s mom and aunt call her “friend” bitchy. Excuse me. But a best friend does not continually try to hook up with their friend’s boyfriend so blatantly. If this chick is continually a horrible person, than she’s not your friend, let alone your BEST friend. It makes no sense! This one aspect of the book just rubbed me the wrong way so much that I couldn’t continue on.

The other characters that I was introduced to were also juvenile and weak.

I hate writing such a scathing review for a book I only read about 20 pages for, but it’s how I feel. Nothing against Krys because I’m sure she’s super proud of this book, but I just feel like it’s not fully formed or realistic. It’s seriously lacking and I couldn’t take it seriously.